Ethics at work

Ethical dilemmas

  1. Smoking cessation post op – patient on triple therapy NRT, bupropion and champix. High risk of nausea with NRT and champix. Dr refused to change drug. I counselled patient and advise to reject champix if needed.
  2. This is more tough – patient with brain injury with poor prognosis and unlikely chance to survive/return to baseline. Grew e.coli bacteremia in the blood on Tuesday. I recommended IV antibiotics. But doctor did not start despite code status DNR M3. Discrepancy between doctor and patient family wishes. What do I do? Should I honour the code, or let it go since I’m not the MRP.
    1. In the end, I discussed with doctor and started CTX 2g Daily x 7 days for GNB Bacteremia.

 

Leave a Reply

